The Oklahoman - Three finalists named for Jim Thorpe Award


Emily Tate

| Nov 20, 2017

Three finalists named for Jim Thorpe Award

Three finalists for the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award, given to major college football’s best defensive back, were named on Monday.

DeShon Elliott of Texas, Minkah Fitzpatrick of Alabama and Josh Jackson of Iowa are the top-three candidates for the Oklahoma City-based award. All three are juniors.

The Thorpe candidates are among 27 finalists for nine National College Football Awards Association honors to be given at The Home Depot College Football Awards show on Dec. 7. The Thorpe winner will then be honored at a Feb. 6 banquet in Oklahoma City.


To learn more, visit:

You may also like:

About the Author

Emily Tate

Emily Rothrock Tate is an award-winning public relations professional with more than a decade of experience in both the nonprofit and for-profit sectors. In her role as a PR specialist, she writes about complex issues and trends that today’s HR professionals face, and serves as steward of Paycom’s corporate giving initiative. An honoree of OKC Biz’s Forty Under 40 and ionOklahoma’s 30/30 Next Gen awards, she serves on the board of Oklahoma City’s Plaza District Association. Outside of work, Tate enjoys science-fiction novels, volunteering in the arts community, cooking and spending time with her son.

See more posts by Emily Tate